Skip to content

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

February 19, 2010

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

These cookies are yet another invention born from the ruinous boredom and bare cabinets that accompanied Snoverit 2010. The first wave of the storm was set to hit on a Friday evening and being the clever Type-A shopper I am I thought, “A-HA! I’ll beat everyone to the punch and go to the store on Thursday night!” Genius right?

Wrong – so heartbreakingly wrong. There was nothing that could have prepared me for what I endured. Twenty minute waits for a shopping cart, cars parked on medians, in fire lanes. The echoes of babies wailing seemed to come from all corners of the store though eerily, I never physically saw one crying baby. I passed a woman with 2 overflowing carts, a manic look in her cold, dead eyes.

A bomb had just gone off in produce, shards of lettuce littering the floor. There was no poultry of any kind save for an old frozen Thanksgiving turkey the staff appeared to have put out as an offering to the angry mob. But I was on a mission and though I just went in for a few things I began to succumb to the mania and put all manner of things in my cart. “I NEED PANCAKE MIX!”

In actuality, the one thing I did truly need for my blog baking task that weekend was granulated sugar. But I arrived at the baking aisle to the crunch of sugar under my boots and the aftermath of a violent scuffle. A shelf that on a normal day easily holds 25+ large bags of sugar was completely bare. Several bags lay wounded on the floor, their insides spilling out. Frustrating for my baking plans? Yes, but mostly it begged the question, what were these people in the greater Alexandria area planning on doing with so much sugar? My guess is that much like the crucial box of pancake mix that stared at me from my cart there were no plans, only irrational panic.

Days went by and still stuck at home I had to come up with something for this space. But how does one produce a cookie post with no granulated sugar? With this Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie recipe from Bon Appetit, that’s how! However, in my excitement I neglected to check if I had the other ingredients needed and it wasn’t until the last step that I realized I had no chocolate chips of any kind.* What I did have was a pesky container of Hershey Kisses leftover from Christmas. So with a rough chop and a plop they were in the dough, in the oven and the outcome is easily one of the best cookies I’ve ever made.

Take that Snoverit Sugar Wars 2010!

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from Bon Appetit Magazine

*Note: For my second batch, pictured here, I tested using a milk chocolate chip in the event you don’t have Kisses on hand. I prefer Ghirardelli brand for the chunky size and shape which is similar to the chopped Kisses. I upped the amount of peanut butter to boost the flavor and used light instead of dark brown sugar as it’s what I had on hand. The combination of powdered and brown sugar gives this cookie a very fine crumb leaving it crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle, A.K.A. Cookie Perfection.

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup plus 1/3 cup powdered sugar

1/2 cup plus 1 Tb light brown sugar, firmly packed

6 Tbs unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 tsps vanilla

1 large egg

1 1/3 cups Hershey Kisses, roughly chopped (or milk chocolate chips)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In the bowl of a mixer, cream together the butter and two sugars. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

2. Add the peanut butter to the butter and sugar mixture and beat to combine. Slowly drizzle in the vegetable oil, the vanilla, then the egg. Mix until fully combined. Gradually add in the dry ingredients, pausing to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed.

3. Using a spatula or wooden spoon, gently fold the milk chocolate chips into the batter until evenly distributed. Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet about 1 inch apart. Bake for 11-12 minutes until the tops are lightly golden but cookies are still soft in the middle. Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Store in an airtight container.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 12:02 pm

    wow! those look incredible!

  2. February 20, 2010 10:47 pm

    Girl oh Girl….do those look yummy! Could you pass me a couple with a nice cup of tea, please!

    Enjoy!

  3. February 21, 2010 2:33 am

    Hey Martha! Your blog looks and sounds GREAT! I look forward to following you. Meanwhile, the twitter link you have posted actually takes you back to this page. Thought you might want to know.

    I’m so hungry for one of those cookies right now!

  4. February 21, 2010 2:58 am

    Thanks for the heads up on the Twitter issue Annelle – should be all fixed now!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Roundup: Flattered Edition « ModernDomestic

Leave a Reply

